THF Café

Tempelhof hilft

Current opening hours: Mon, Thu closed. Wed, Thu & Sat 1-7pm, Fri 12am-9pm and Sunday Bazaar: 1-4pm.

All monthly events can be found in our calendar here.

Since the end of April, the “THF Café” is located in hangar 1 of the emergency shelter of the former Tempelhof airport. This was initiated, built and designed jointly by our association and residents of the emergency accommodation within a month. The café is organized and operated together from a 10-strong core team of (former) residents and volunteer supporters.

We want to enable a low-threshold meeting place for refugees, Berliners, interested parties and volunteers. The meeting café will thus become a place of exchange, “getting to know each other”, but should also offer plenty of room for creativity.

The current political developments, especially the announced closure of the accommodation at the former Tempelhof Airport in the summer of 2017, present some challenges for us as a local association. The hitherto unclear temporal processes require special flexibility from us to ensure the long-term and sustainable planning of our work. Nevertheless, we are in the first place to welcome the fastest possible closure of the accommodation in order to finally end the difficult housing situation in the hangars. We see the developments as an opportunity to further develop our association work and the already established meeting place – the THFcafé – and to implement it in the long term.

If you would like to use the THFCafé for your own events, please write to: info@thfwelcome.de
The café is located in Hangar 1 next to the former wardrobe. A direct route is available here.

So join us! The café is located in Hangar 1.

Further impressions of construction and the opening of the café on 28th April 2016 you will find in our Blog.

THF Café

Tempelhof hilft


Alle aktuellen Termine im THF Café findet ihr hier.

Seit Ende April gibt es in Hangar 1 der Notunterkunft des ehemaligen Flughafens Tempelhof das „THF Café“. Dies wurde innerhalb von einem Monat gemeinsam von unserem Verein und Bewohner*innen der Notunterkunft initiiert, gebaut und gestaltet. Das Café wird gemeinsam aus einem ca. 10-köpfigen Kernteam von (ehemaligen) Bewohner*innen und ehrenamtlichen Unterstützer*innen organisiert und betrieben.

Wir wollen einen niedrigschwelligen Treffpunkt für Geflüchtete, Berliner*innen, Interessierte und ehrenamtliche Helfer*innen ermöglichen. Das Begegnungscafé wird so zu einem Ort des Austauschs, des „sich Kennenlernens“ und soll aber auch viel Platz für Kreativität bieten.

Die aktuellen politischen Entwicklungen, vor allem die angekündigte Schließung der Unterkunft im ehemaligen Flughafen Tempelhof im Sommer 2017, bringen für uns als vor Ort ansässigen Verein einige Herausforderungen mit sich. Die bisher unklaren zeitlichen Abläufe erfordern von uns besondere Flexibilität, um die langfristige und nachhaltige Planung unserer Arbeit zu gewährleisten. Trotzdem steht für uns an erster Stelle, dass wir die schnellstmögliche Schließung der Unterkunft begrüßen, um die schwierige Unterbringungssituation in den Hangars endlich zu beenden. Wir sehen die Entwicklungen als Chance, um unsere Vereinsarbeit und die bereits geschaffene Begegnungsstätte – das THFcafé – weiterzuentwickeln und nachhaltig umzusetzen.

Wenn ihr das THFCafé für eure eigenen Veranstaltungen nutzen möchtet, schreibt gerne eine Anfrage an: info@thfwelcome.de


Das Café befindet sich in Hangar 1 neben der ehemaligen Kleiderkammer. Eine direkte Wegbeschreibung findet ihr hier.

Kommt vorbei! Das Café befindet sich in Hangar 1 neben der Kleiderkammer 

Weitere Impressionen von Bau und der Einweihung des Cafés am 28. April 2016 findet Ihr in unserem Blog.